She’s Crafty!

A week or two ago, I suddenly was overcome with the crafting/organization itch. Since this is almost the Fall and new seasons always make me want to change things and reorganize, I was so excited I pretty much ran right out and bought my supplies!

I decided that I wanted to turn my basement door into a sort of kid friendly art station. I wanted the top to hold her artwork and the bottom to be a little blackboard for her to draw on. The kid LOVES any kind of art supply so I figured she’d be excited about it!

Well, it seemed easy enough: Buy magnetic paint and blackboard paint, and add accent colors. I figured I’d do the whole thing in a night!
It took more like two or three nights, but the results are pretty cool! A few things to keep in mind if you want to try this yourself:

1) Magnetic paint LIES about the application. If you only follow the directions and apply a mere 3 coats, nothing will stick to it. The attraction will be too weak. The paint has little particles of iron mixed in it, which is how a magnet sticks to it to begin with. But, if you don’t apply it super evenly and perfectly, the magnet won’t have enough pull to hold up a piece of paper. I found a website that suggested 6 coats using a very smooth foam roller. I didn’t have a very smooth roller, so I did 7 coats! It worked out okay!

2) Magnetic paint doesn’t really wipe up very easily. It sticks to everything and gets in the grooves. I had to touch up my door with extra white paint we luckily had around! So uh, be more careful than I was!

3) chalkboard paint also requires a few coats and a smooth roller if possible, though this is more so its easy to write on. I waited the suggested 3 days before coating it with chalk and wiping it down and it works awesome. A friend of mine was impatient and didn’t let it cure as the can says and it still works great for her too. So I guess you don’t have to be a rule follower on this one!

BEFORE!

AFTER! (sorry it’s crooked, whoops!)

Either way, I’m happy! It looks cute, it works great, and the Kid kept smiling and pointing and calling the door “Pitty!” (that’s “Pretty” to those who don’t speak toddler-ease). She also loves drawing on it and erasing!

 

One thought on “She’s Crafty!

Leave a Reply

