Crankypants

This rain is majorly bringing me down. I tried to go with the flow yesterday when it rained all day. I baked bread in the bread-machine. I made lasagna from scratch. I baked chocolate chip cookies the day before and ate a bunch. I danced with the kid and played cooking with her. I did stuff to clean the house and organize. And then at night I snuggled up with the husband and watched tv. But I don’t know, I just feel so BLAH about it all!

Today it was gloomy and drizzly, but at least it wasn’t pouring. However, the kid is going through some major teething woes and that really didn’t help my already crabby mood.

I must say, we are SUPER lucky with the kid and night time sleep, and her general outlook on life. When she was an infant, that was a different story. She had it ROUGH. She had mega acid reflux and was on meds. She cried ALL THE TIME all day and til about 1am when she’d pass out for like 4 hours. She would barf up everything she drank right up until her next feeding. She’d be happy for about 20 minutes total a day. I cried a lot then too!! I lost all of my pregnancy weight and then some because I could never put her down even for naps a large portion of the time, so I never could eat anything. It was tough but we got through it.

However, from like 6 months on she suddenly transformed into super awesomely happy baby, which is of course how everyone prefers their kid be! She is really independent and loves to play by herself and make up weird games. She is happy to just be in the same room as me though lots of times she leaves and plays in the living room without me while I cook or whatever. She’s a total daredevil though so I can’t really just let her do her thing without me, and that’s fine because I love watching her play and playing and stuff with her! She also loves going places, shopping in the shopping cart, and walking around while I get my coffee. She holds my hand while we walk and look in all the shop windows and she points out cool stuff to me. It’s great!

But when she is teething or otherwise not feeling well, WATCH OUT! Super adorable happy kid is replaced by fire breathing dragon child of DOOM.

And it happens with zero warning! I’m never prepared! As a result it makes me SO freaking tired!

Last night it began at bedtime. Usually we do some books, she hops into bed and laughs while you tuck her in and giggles herself to sleep. It’s amazing and I do know we are SO lucky she does this! Last night…crying! Pointing at the door to leave! I actually didn’t know what to do so I turned on the light and re-read a book and re-tucked her in! (uh, that was not a wise idea just between us!) She yelled and complained and grumbled and then sort of dozed so that was crappy but okay.

She woke up like 20 minutes later screaming like crazy. boo! Husband got her, snuggled her, rocked her…she would point at the door and be all, No sleeping! party time and I’m mad and aggravated! grrr! She basically threw a temper tantrum. What?! Finally he just kissed her and tucked her in again. She yelled like 5 minutes and went to sleep.

But, she was up all night. Not enough that I ever even got out of bed as she’d whimper and go back to sleep and honestly, I’m afraid to go in there if she isn’t downright screaming for us! But I laid awake a lot waiting for the real crying so I could go give her some advil. Never came, but she woke up at 6, which is a bit early.

Then today. Oh my god today! She was a beastly beast!! Yelled about everything. Cried when anyone even looked at her funny. Refused to eat. Refused to let me get dressed or brush my teeth without her. I took her to get lunch and shoes and she threw a super crazy screaming fit in the mall that was so awful I just gave up and brought her home! Lunch-less people! No Panera for this tired mom!

Finally she napped and woke up vaguely happier, but not overly. She just was so PISSED at everything! I guess cutting three molars at once will do that to ya! She has like zero patience when she doesn’t feel well so she just cries and flips and its all very terrible for both of us!

Anyway, to make a very long and pointless blog entry have some point to it: This rain has me cranky. The crabby kid has me crankier. And even though we advil-ed her tonight and she didn’t freak too much at bedtime and is now asleep, I am still cranky and don’t want to do anything but lay around and whine about how tired I am and how cranky I am!

How do you snap yourself out of it when you’ve got the bad weather-teething toddler blues?! I really don’t have the answer….hopefully a shower and my pjs and a very quiet glance at lovely sleeping kid will at least help a little bit!

One thought on “Crankypants

Leave a Reply

