It’s just a couch….

So this Saturday we are getting a new and awesome sectional couch for our Living Room. I am SO excited about it because we have a very small house and the sectional is going to make the room seem so much bigger, yet offer more seating. Awesome! We are also getting sick of the kid trying to dive off the couches into the small openings between them and then almost cracking her head open/reaching the things we put there because its out of her reach. So the new couch is totally going to be swell.

But in the meantime, I had to find something to do with our old couch. I signed up for a donation to St. Vincent De Paul and they were supposed to come this morning to pick it up.

Last night as I sat with the kid snuggling on the couch before bedtime, I started to feel really nostalgic about the couch. I mean, its the first piece of furniture my husband and I bought together. So many memories of movies and eating take out on it, parties and naps. I slept on that couch for a week when I had sinus surgery and damn is it comfy. When the kid was born, I spent countless long nights cuddling her when she was not into sleeping the first few months. The couch has history! But at least I figured it would be going to a good home to someone who needs it.

Well, the guys came, took one look at it and were like, SORRY NOPE. They wouldn’t take it. Why? Becuase of some water stains from when we cleaned up various things and the water sort of puddled. Really? All it needs is a good steam cleaning. That’s it! I had assumed these donation centers you know, CLEANED THINGS before they sell them/give them to the poor. Apparently, they do not. Which is kind of gross and also sad.

So yes, I cried. I cried when the large moving men wouldn’t take my couch and give it a good home. I am not ashamed to admit it, that couch and I are good friends! I feel horrible knowing that it will end up smushed in a junkyard somewhere. It needs a loving family! Sadly, they were unaffected by a crazy lady’s tears, and offered to move it to the side of the house where it will sit til Sunday night when we put it out for the garbage guys to take. Hopefully someone will see it and snatch it up that night and at least then it will have a home once more.

But seriously, I called Salvation Army afterwards just to see, and they won’t take it either! I find that to be so weird. They basically want only brand new donations, but no one donates a couch that is brand new! And why wouldn’t they clean the things they get? Society has saddened me today! Oh well, time to go vacuum the area where there is now no couch and try to keep my mind on the cozy new couch coming Saturday and all the new memories we’ll have with that one!

Leave a Reply

