Meetup!

Okay, so lately I’ve been feeling kind of down. Probably largely due to the fact that i had a raging headcold/sinus thing for most of the month of January which left me cranky and tired and sickly and feeling sorry for myself every night.

But regardless, the other day I decided to stop feeling sorry for myself and get out there and DO THINGS to change it! So my kind of late resolution for this year is to be adventurous, even with kid in tow!

To start off, I joined the world of MeetUp. Meetup is a website (in case you are unaware!) that basically lets you find other groups of like minded people and get together! Which sounds lovely when you think of it from a surface level, much like internet dating…but then when you really think about it, its a bit scary. I mean, who are these people I’m going to meet? Are they really who they say they are?

This is almost even scarier when you add a kid to the equation as you shall soon see! But anyway, I joined Meet Up, added a bunch of local mom’s groups (I had no idea there even WERE any! But there are tons!) and then lo and behold, started getting messages sent to me to meet groups of moms and kids! How awesome! So I accepted one invite to meet up with two other moms in my very own town. That seemed even better! This way the kid and I could meet these other kids and moms at the local park and stuff. I’ve been trying to get people to be our friend at Storytime at the library, but my child is the one who is running around the room hugging all the other kids during the stories, following the librarian to try to steal her book, banging on the chairs and then trying to lead an insurrection and get all the other babies to run and bang on the door…so storytime is perhaps not the best way for me to make friends!! But anyway…back to the meetup!

This one was meeting at the founder of the group’s house. One other mom already was like, yeah sure we’ll be there! At first they were meeting on a Thursday, and I work that day so I was all, “ohhh so sorry! Can’t come, working!!” So then they moved it to Friday, when I could totally come! I was all excited and hit YES and was nervous but happy about the whole thing.

Until the day of the meetup. When I suddenly realized: Dude, you are about to bring you and your tiny defenseless child to the home of a total. freakin. stranger. Is this a good idea? If you were meeting someone for drinks would you meet at the dude’s house? Did your parents teach you nothing?! Didn’t McGruff the Crime Dog teach you to take a bite outta crime!? WHAT ARE YOU DOING?! ITS A TRAP! YOU ARE GOING TO BE SHIPPED HOME IN A BODY BAG!

None of my fears were swayed at all when I decided to chat with a dear friend of mine via text message while I sat around waiting for the kid to finish her nap and us to go drive to our death. She was like, “What? You are meeting for the first time at her HOUSE? That’s weird.” I was like..”Yeah I know but I didn’t think it was weird til now!” and she’s all, “Well, hopefully your husband knows the address, though if he doesn’t hear from you you will probably already be dead and your body hidden in the house!” Great. Just great!

So anyway, I get there, the house looks innocent enough, its pouring so I call to let her know we are here but waiting out the rain a bit and she sticks her head out and seems normal, so that was good. Finally we go in and…

It was actually quite lovely! Ha! What a boring ending to a story, right? I mean, her kid was super cute, she was very nice. The other chick bailed, and there was cake and taco dip so it would have been really sad if we’d bailed too! So we chatted and her kid sat cutely as she’s younger than mine and mine ran around and pointed at things and played pretty nicely (and hugged the other kid of course) and then we came home. Totally unscathed! We might even meet up again sometime!

 

2 thoughts on “Meetup!

Leave a Reply

